Back to All Events

Huldufolk: Hidden People Art Show

  • Artspace Jackson Flats 901 18 1/2 Avenue Northeast Minneapolis, MN, 55418 United States (map)

HULDUFÓLK: Hidden People Art Show
Opening reception Saturday, March 2nd 12pm - 11pm. Exhibition hours: March 3, 9 & 10: 12pm-5pm.

Artspace Jackson Flats
901 18 1/2 Ave NE Minneapolis

Huldufólk means “hidden people” in Icelandic and Faroese. They are elves in Icelandic and Faroese folklore, mystical creatures, secreted away in the meadows, rocks and mountains, dwelling in the surreal world, full of magic and enchantment. "The Huldufólk are... not so much supernatural as ultranatural, representing not an overcoming of nature in the hope of a better deal beyond but a deep reverence for the land and the mysterious powers…” (Michael Strmiska)

Join us as we walk the path to the secret worlds of Hidden People, surrounded by trolls and elves, ghosts and magicians, and all the fantastical creatures of the North at our event “Huldufólk“ in Artspace Jackson Flats.

ARTWORK EXHIBITION & ARTIST SECRET MARKET (30+local artists)
MUSIC & PERFORMANCE SHOW “CULT OF NORTH”
featuring: Kari Tauring: www.karitauring.com
Darlene Dreamer: www.dreamerandthesmokerings.com
& Dark ritual ambient Program:
Transitional Species, Darkrad, Strigae, DJ JanaDark
VISUAL PROJECTIONS
TAROT READINGS: Geek Girl Tarot: www.geekgirltarot.com
RUNE & DRUM READING: Bearphysicks
LIVE PAINTING: Charlene Perkey, The Subverted Fairy Project
FOOD TRUCK: Gastrotruck

Confirmed artists:
- Dustin W: www.Artstation.com/dustyw - Digital
- Marnie's Creations: www.marniescreations.com - Wire wrapped jewelry
- Foxy Foundry: www.foxyfoundry.com - Bronze
- Agata Wang: www.instagram.com/caspiennethestrange - Hand embroidery
- Dysthymic Bliss: www.facebook.com/malenkia13 - Mixed media, collage and assemblage art
- Emily Fritze: www.emilyfritze.com - Digital painting
- Hedgewitch Studio: www.instagram.com/hedgewitch_studio - Air-dry clay/multi-media
- OTHERREALM: www.otherrealm.space - Apparel/costume design and illustration
- Waabooz Beading: www.waaboozbeading.com - Beadwork, acrylic paint and pen and paper
- Charlene Perkey: www.charleneperkey.com - Oil
- Chien Nguyen: www.instagram.com/chienchilla37/ - Graphite, charcoal
- Jana Komaritsa: www.komaritsa.com - painting
- ELC: www.eclark10990.wixsite.com/mysite - Acrylic, wood, found objects, cones
- Dance For Grandma: www.danceforgrandma.com - Acrylics, Mixed Media, and Fantasy Fashion Accessories
- Tough Cookies Art: www.instagram.com/toughcookiesart - Glass beads and Glass,pen and watercolor
- Ms. Streeter: www.MsStreeter.com - ink, coffee, and watercolor paintings, mixed media sculpture
- Hana Russell at Flame Point Studio: www.hanarussell.com - Ink with digital color
- Trepinning: www.ellengriffinillustration.com/gallery/ - Prismacolor Marker & Watercolor
- Laurie Mudek - Imaginary Muses: www.instagram.com/imaginarymuses - Creative Paperclay
- Steph Kunze: www.stephkunze.com - Drawing
- CL Martin: www.clmartinfineart.daportfolio.com - graphite, charcoal
- WonderCult: www.etsy.com/shop/WonderCult
- Emerald Raven Creations: www.Emeraldraven.com - Wire and leather
- The Subverted Fairy Project: www.subvertedfairy.com/ - Drawings and Paintings
- Ravens Woods: www.facebook.com/ravensandthefoxcollections/ - Acrylic
- Krystalize Art: www.krystalizeart.com - Photography, Painting
- Jordain Cheng-Kinnander, Cloud & Waters Publishing LLC - www.facebook.com/Jordain.Kinnander.Fableheim - Graphite and Ink on Vellum and Antique Papers
- Maria Quinn of Glimmer and Grim: https://www.instagram.com/glimmerandgrim - Taxidermy/Swarovski Crystals
- ChugArt: https://www.instagram.com/chugart72 - ink, pencil, watercolor, gouache on paper/watercolor paper
- Nicole Hoekstra: www.nicolehoekstra.com - Photographic Collage
- Scott Rolfs: www.scottrolfs.crevado.com - digital print
- A. Kolisnyk: www.instagram.com/JezebelTruant - Oil Paint, Digital Painting, Pencils
- Steak & Unicorns Art & Illustration: www.steakandunicorns.com - Ink, watercolor, digital
- Erik Andersen: www.erikandersenart.com/sculpture - Sculpture
- Ali Kahlert: www.instagram.com/akahlert/ - Ink Drawing, Acrylic Paint
- Jesse Green - Oil
- Megan L Kelly - jewelry
- Threadmancer Embroidery: Threadmancer.etsy.com - Embroidery
- Shelby's the Creep Factor Studio: shelbylangeiart.carbonmade.com - Mixed Media on paper
- Mooncraftedessentials: www.mooncraftedessentials.com - soaps/candles/jewelry for pagans
- Mark Lone: markloneART.bigcartel.com - screen print, digital giclee', hand inked illustrations
- Cottontail Arts - Acrylic on canvas, metals, natural stones
- This Love of Mine: www.thisloveofmine.shop - Beaded Jewelry
- Jackie Platt - 3d mixed media
- Studio Payne: www.Facebook.com/studiopayne - Dead things
- Nest and Tessellate: Nestandtessellate.art - Magical symbolism
- Celestia Aromatherapy: celestiaaromatherapy.com - essential oils + other vegan, natural materials. scents for home + body care
- Megan Arneson - mixed media
- LoftyDogDesigns: www.etsy.com/shop/loftydogdesigns - Screen Printing, Fiber Art
- Paul B. Rucker: Acrylic on board, digital mixed media
- Sisu Cat Studio: www.sisucatstudio.com - Acrylic, alcohol ink, mixed media
- Christy Kirk: www.Instagram.com/christykirkstudio - Graphite and white charcoal on toned paper
- Renee Chartier: www.Instagram.com/opaquepastels - Acrylic paint on canvas
- Black Banjo Arts: www.blackbanjoarts.com - Ceramics
- Danielle Pebbles: www.daniellepebblesart.com - Painting
- Dverger's Anvil: https://www.facebook.com/pg/dvergersanvil - Organic and Reclaimed

Artist Secret Market official hours: 12 pm - 7 pm on March 2nd.

FREE ADMISSION (donations appreciated, suggested $2-5)

Official: www.mrakmur.com/huldufolk
Contact of the organizer: Jana Komaritsa: info@mrakmur.com
Follow on Facebook: www.facebook.com/mrakmur